India - Be in the Rendezvous land of color, culture and fauna - Famous India, presents the majestic culture and royal heritage of India through its popular destination guides and tour packages. We, at Famous India, calls globetrotters to explore india and promise to give an authentic travel services to travellers coming to India.

Famous India > Trains of India > Darjeeling Toy Train
Golden Triangle Tour
Durations : 06 Days
Cities : Delhi-Jaipur...
Beaches of Kerala & Goa
Durations : 11 Days
Cities : Mumbai-Goa...
Buddhist Circuit Tour
Durations : 12 Days
Cities : Delhi-Lumbini...
Royal Rajasthan Tour
Durations : 21 Days
Cities : Delhi-Bikaner...
Indian Tiger Trails
Durations : 16 Days
Cities : Delhi- Jaipur...

Darjeeling Toy Train

Plan Your Tour
Ever wondered what it would be like riding in a train being stretched by a small engine. The Darjeeling Himalayan Railway is a Engineering marvel developed by the Britishers and running to this day. Considered as a World Heritage Site, the Gunnies Book of World Records considers the Toy Train journey as the most spectacular journeys of all.

The Train passes through Siliguri town, Siliguri Junction, Sukna, Rangtong, Chunbatti, Tindharia, Gayabari, Mahanadi, Kurseong, Tung, Sonada, Ghum and reaches Darjeeling. The beginning point is New Jalpaiguri.

Experience Adventure :
  • The 2,112 meters gain in height from New Jalpaiguri, a station in Siliguri to Darjeeling, covers a distance of 88 kms has the most dramatic sceneries to watch out.
  • Halting at points like Agony Point and Batasia Loop it has beautiful Gardens to take a stroll in to enjoy the beauty of Darjeeling. Stopping for half an hour at both of these points it gives enough time to enjoy the Hills.
  • The train passes through the local markets and the towns. People and children stand by, stopping their work and watching as the train passes. Even the Buddhist monks can be seen enjoying the passage of the train.
  • The train reaches the Ghoom station, the Highest Narrow Gauge Station in the World. Here you can have snacks and also see the Railway Museum showcasing the early days and beginning of the Darjeeling Toy Train.
  • Considered a World Heritage Site it covers 14 stations in all from New Jalpaiguri to Darjeeling..
Batasia Loop
Batasia Loop
This small garden made in the Honour of all those soldiers who went to World War and subsequent wars, is a place to take pictures of the Kanchandezonga Range and the Darjeeling Valley.

Ghum Station
The Highest Narrow Gauge Railway Station is a very cute Station. Looking just like a Toy Stations from outside, its worth a photograph. Here you can also see the Railway Museum of the Toy Train. You can see the first Toy Train Engine made in Galpego itself.

Darjeeling Toy  TrainItinerary:
The train runs everyday from New Jalpaiguri with minor changes in the schedule as per the weather conditions. The changes can be known from the station once you reach the respective station.

New Jalpaiguri - Darjeeling
Kuresong - Darjeeling
Darjeeling - Kuresong
Ghum Special Darjeeling Ghum

Detailed Itinerary

New Jalpaiguri : The Toy Train begins at New Jalpaiguri. Leaving the New Jalpaiguri Station the train reaches through Siliguri town and crosses the Mahanadi river Bridge which flows from the Himalayan Foot Hills.

Sukna : After six miles the train reaches Sukna Station from where the real ascent begins. Here the train stops for the engine to take water. Here the blue mountain hills are visible. The train passes through Rangtang Station. Here you can see the wooded mountains. As the train passes, the view changes to tea gardens, tea factories and forest of teak and sal. From here the train passes through Chunbhati. Here you can see the Britishers Bunglows.

Trindhara : The Darjeeling Himalayan Train now reaches the Trindhara Railway Station which is at a height of 2,822 ft. The train stops here for a while and you can have tea and snacks over here. From here you will be able to see the zig zag path on which the train runs. Also known as Giddhpara or the Eagle Craig with an excellent view of the valley, the hills and the tea gardens it reaches Kuresong Station.

Kuresong : Kuresong , one of the major Hill Stations before the train reaches Darjeeling, is one of the major Stations for the Toy Train. The train passes through the Kuresong town and you can see the daily life on full swing as you pass by them. See school children and elders waving as the train passes by. From New Jalpaiguri to Darjeeling there are 100 road crossings.

Sonada and JoreBunglow : As the train passes through Sonada market one can see the Sonada Bazar with people flocking in for their daily purchase. Here you can have a view of the Tibetan Stupa (Chorten). From here the train passes through Senchel Reserve Forest. Have a spree of chestnuts, walnuts, magnolis in the moss - laden forest. From here the train passes through Jore bunglow. Since this is the only passing point of in and out of Darjeeling Pass, it is always filled with traffic. But the train passes with easeness from this point too. The train now reaches the Ghoom Station.

Ghoom : The highest point is the entire route of Darjeeling Toy Train, the train stops here for some refreshment. Leaving the Ghoom Station the train passes through the Batasia Loop from where you get excellent view of Kanchedezonga Range and other snowy mountain tops. The train finally reaches Darjeeling Railway Station.

  • Kuresong
  • Ghum - Batasia Loop
  • Hill Cart Road
  • Kanchenjunga. Range
Tarrif per person per night for Deluxe Cabin
» Single Occupancy INR 450 From Darjeeling to Ghum Station and Back
» Single Occupancy INR 1000 From New Jalpaiguri to Darjeeling
» There can be changes in the fare which need to be checked before booking

  • Half fare for children between 5 and 12 years of age. 10 % surcharge plus 3 % service tax which can change as Govt. of India rules.
  • In case of no show, no refund shall be done. In case of en route termination for any reason, there shall be no refund under any circumstance. The amount for the unused portion of the tour will betreated as forfeited. Any kind of amendment is possible only in case of Natural Disaster or serious ailment certified by a practising Doctor.
  • The ticket once bought cannot be cancelled. The train ticket can be brought from New Jalpaiguri Railway Station or any of the other mentioned railway stations.
  • The train begins from New Jalpaiguri and ends at New Jalpaiguri. However you can get on the train at any of the stations mentioned in the itenary and get down at any of the stations.
  • Be sure to wear or carry a woolen jacket even if its a sunny day as the weather here is highly unpredictable. Also carry a small umbrella for the rain to come.
  • During Tourist seasons, that is, March to May and October to December, special Toy Train Joy Ride is arranged from Darjeeling to Ghoom and back. If you have children with you, then its best to take this route.

Golden Triangle by Train
Durations : 06 Days/ 05 Nights
Cities : Delhi - Jaipur - Agra - Delhi...
Book A Tour
Palace On Wheels Tour
Durations : 08 Days/ 07 Nights
Cities : Delhi - Jaipur - Jaisalmer ...
Book A Tour
Taj and Tiger Tour
Durations : 11 Days/ 10 Nights
Cities : Delhi - Mandawa - Jaipur ...
Book A Tour